Excellence Awards winners

The annual Excellence Awards recognize outstanding library performance in southeast Kansas.
There are eight categories of Excellence Awards.
In any given year, SEKLS may give one or more awards in any of these categories,
but no more than five awards will be given in any year.
The recipient receives a trophy, and their library receives a $1,000 check.
Their name is also added to a traveling plaque for that category of award.
Look here for the nominating and other guidelines and the Nomination Form.

Recipients of SEKLS Excellence Awards

Library Fort Scott Public Library
Trustee Stephanie Brown, Pleasanton Lincoln Library

Rookie of the Year Christine Inman, Madison Public Library
Special Project LitWit program, Kandi Wilson, Chanute Public Library

Rookie of the Year Bonnie Palmer, Weir Public Library
Distinguished Service Susan Willis, Chanute Public Library

Trustee Dana Denton, Howard City Library
Library Staff Becky Passauer, Independence Public Library

Library Savonburg Public Library
Library Director Karen Eshelman, Howard City Library
Library Staff May Damron, Toronto Public Library
Library Staff Valetta Cannon, Fort Scott Public Library